Blog about KUSP

KUSP Captures Two Murrow Awards

2014 Edward R. Murrow AwardsToday the Radio Television Digital News Association announced the regional winners of the 2014 Edward R. Murrow Awards. KUSP, I’m happy to say, has two wins this year! earned an award for best broadcast affiliated Web site. The Water Squeeze, our ongoing series explaining Monterey Bay area water planning, was recognized for continuing audio coverage of a major developing issue.

I’m very pleased the judges recognized what’s been achieved by the community volunteers and professional staff who collaborate on –and we are grateful for the high-level peer recognition for The Water Squeeze, one of our many reporting initiatives at KUSP and one we’re especially proud of.

The awards highlight the steady growth of KUSP’s efforts to meet the information needs of the Monterey Bay area and keep up with how Monterey Bay area residents get their news.
“The Murrow Awards honor journalism at its finest,” said Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. “Local newsrooms serve their communities 365 days a year, and we’re proud to recognize the great work they do.”

The Water Squeeze
KUSP News entered 2013 aware that what happened that year in water planning would affect the region for decades. Indeed, it was the year the Monterey Peninsula seems to have settled on a plan for replacing the Carmel River as its principal source of supply. Decades of planning for a desalination plant in Santa Cruz came to a halt. Meanwhile, techniques for getting the most use out of finite supplies of water have been steadily improving, and hundreds of innovators in groups like the Central Coast Greywater Alliance are bringing new ideas to water re-use. Our ongoing Water Squeeze series provides a valuable resource for understanding these issues.

This was our first major reporting initiative that incorporated ideas from American Public Media’s Public Insight Network. Using PIN techniques, KUSP reporters determined our reporting could be of the most use to our audience if we provided a way to understand how water is currently supplied along with details about what planners were considering and what different approaches might entail.

J.D. Hillard, Wes Sims, Hannah Weikel, Melissae Fellet, Danielle Venton, and Bonnie Jean Primbsch have all done great work in creating our coverage of The Water Squeeze and I’m really happy they can enjoy this recognition.
Every day offers up current news from NPR along with Monterey Bay area reporting by our reporters and the highest quality conversation and interview shows on the radio in the region. A visitor can choose between a story on the latest events in the Ukraine, an in-depth look at the decisions affecting our water supply, discussions on health with Ask Dr. Dawn or hours of classical, jazz and other music. In an environment in which audiences keep adjusting to improve their access to media, has kept up in a way that compares to large-market TV and radio station sites. Our Director of New Media and, Steve Laufer, has been leading this team since 2002 and I’m absolutely thrilled to see Steve get credit at this level for what he and his colleagues have accomplished.

About the Murrow Awards
RTDNA says 2014 was among the most competitive year in the group’s history, with over 4,000 news organizations competing for 661 awards. Large-market and small-market stations compete separately for the Murrow Awards. 88.9 KUSP shares the company of Pasadena-based KPCC in the Website category and KQED San Francisco in the continuing coverage category.

The annual Murrow awards honor news organizations for outstanding achievements in electronic journalism. According to RTDNA, recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow established as a standard for radio and television journalism as well as the electronic media that have followed. KUSP was considered among news organizations working in television, radio or digital media in the smaller markets of California, Nevada, Hawaii and Guam. Winners of regional awards will compete for nationwide awards which will be announced in June.

Comments are closed.